Raj-Yogs for Various Ascendant

Vedic Astro

                                                                    Om Nama Shivaya

In Vedic astrology associations or conjunction of the planets form a Raja-yog’s. Raj-Yog is of various types. Though the original text says that some 6000 different types of Raj-Yogas exist, still, we mortal beings have been able to only identify 300 and odd Raj-Yogas.

To name a few of them: Gajakesari Yoga, Pancha Mahapurusha Yogas, Parivartana Yoga, Sunapha Yoga, Anapha Yoga and many more.

Though Raj-Yogas are of various types, their placement on the natal chart is very important.   The idea behind most yogas is to equate the planet’s strength in a chart, and how and when it will produce its effects in the person’s life. This is generally determined by the Dasha ruled by a planet.

Following are some of the types of Raj-yogas which can be commonly seen in an Individual horoscope.

Raja Yoga

The first mentioned here is a Raja Yoga. Raja Yoga means “royal union”, it is formed by the association of planets and the houses they rule. Raja Yoga is formed by a planet of a Kendra house together with a planet of a Trikona house. In other words, this means, they are the Squares and the trines.

The Kendra houses are (1,4,7,10) and the Trikona houses are (1,5,9). Therefore, any form of conjunction, mutual aspect, exchange forms a Raj-Yog in a natal chart.

Yoga Karaka

A Yoga karaka is when one single planet forms Raja Yoga by itself. But the condition is that the same Planer should be the ruler of a Trikona and again a Kendra. The first house can serve as either in the combination. In both Taurus and Libra ascendants, Saturn is the Yoga Karaka. In Taurus ascendant Saturn rules, the 9th (trine) house, and the 10th (Kendra) house.

For Libra ascendants, Saturn rules both the 4th (Kendra) and the 5th (trine). Other ascendants that have a Yoga Karaka are Capricorn and Aquarius. They both have Venus as the Yoga Karaka. With Capricorn, Ascendant Venus rules the 5th and the 10th. Aquarius ascendant Venus rules the 4th and 9th. For Cancer and Leo ascendants Mars is the Yoga Karaka.

Cancer ascendant will have Mars rule the 5th and the 10th. Leo ascendants will have Mars rule the 4th and the 9th.

Pancha Mahapurusha Yogas

These are called the five Yogas of great people. Pancha means five, Maha means great and Purusha means man. The Mahapurusha Yoga is a planet (excluding the Sun and Moon) in its own sign or exalted in a Kendra (angle). The following are the further division of Pancha Mahapurusha yoga.

  • Badra Yoga: This yoga is formed by Mercury, which satisfies the above conditions. They are very calculative in their approach.
  • Ruchak Yoga: This yoga is formed by Mars, which will satisfy the above-mentioned condition. Being Mars, they are bold and merciless at times.
  • Hamsa Yoga: Jupiter is the reason for this yog. Native is considered very intelligent under Hamsa Yog. Again, the above-mentioned condition should be adhered to.
  • Malavya Yog: Malavya yog is formed due to Venus. They are very artistic and love beauty and fashion. Venus should be exalted or in Mooltrikona sthan, or in his own house and in Kendra.
  • Shash Yog: If all the above-mentioned conditions are satisfied, the Saturn is the reason for Shash yog. This yog makes one a leader of a large follower, village or a town.

Gaja Kesari Yoga

This means the Elephant-Lion Yoga. These are animals with great presence, and rule the jungle, and so it is with those with this Yoga.

Gaja Kesari Yoga is when Jupiter is in a Kendra (1, 4, 7, 10) from the Moon. This Yoga gives wealth, intelligence, and virtues.

Papa Kartari Yoga

Kartari means “scissors”, and papa means “sin”. This is also called “hemmed in”. It is when malefic planets surround a house and the planets within that house. There must be a malefic in both the house before, and after (surrounding) the house hemmed in. The malefic planets are Saturn, Mars, Rahu, and Ketu and Sun. Example:

Saturn in the 12th house and Mars in the 2nd house, the 1st house is hemmed in by malefics, constituting papa katari yoga for the 1st house. Interpretation: The 1st house would be robbed of protection. The matters the 1st house rules would be harmed. The 1st house rules physical health, and the body. Here the body is harmed.

Shubha Kartari Yoga

Shubha means auspicious. Here the benefic planets surround a house. The benefic planets are Jupiter, Venus, and Mercury. The benefic planets give protection and grace to the house they surround. Example: Venus in the 1st house and Jupiter in the 3rd house, the 2nd house is hemmed in by benefics.

Sunapha Yoga

Any planet excluding the Sun, Rahu and Ketu in the house second from the Moon creates Sunapha Yoga. This indicates acquisition, and the planet itself will describe the manner in which things will be acquired. For example, Mars in the 2nd house from the Moon, is Sunapha Yoga indicating an aggressive manner in acquiring money, or possessions. This Yoga is about receiving.

Anapha Yoga

Any planet excluding the Sun, Rahu or Ketu in the house 12th from the Moon creates Anapha Yoga. This yoga deals with giving. The 12th house is about giving, and expenditures. This is about generosity. For example, Jupiter 12th house from the Moon is someone who is very generous.


More to follow soon……… Please keep Visiting.

Author: Girish Vaithilingan

Content writer and Astro practitioner.....

2 thoughts on “Raj-Yogs for Various Ascendant”

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.